top of page

Mr. Sun

Dear Mr. Sun, can you hear me?

Can you hear the soft hum pouring from my chest?

Can you hear the pleas from my skin?


Dear Mr. Sun, are you listening? Did you hear that?

Did you hear the promises of the moon?

She whispered to me a secret last night.

Do you know what she said, Mr. Sun?

But of course, I cannot tell you in your light of day,

Such secrets are kept for her dark of night.


Dear Mr. Sun, can you forgive me?

Can you forgive me like I forgive your absence when the wind is howling and a storm is raging?

Can you forgive me like I forgive your absence when the clouds are miserable and you have fled to seek refuge?

Dear Mr. Sun, please come back, for that was a wicked trick you have played.

Dear Mr. Sun do you think it’s fair what I ask of you?

Do you think weakness makes the heart grow stronger—

Or is it distant and fonder?

Please Mr. Sun, you promised me another hour.

It couldn’t possibly hurt you the way it does for me?

Recent Posts

See All

A Proustian Moment

Published in mixedmag.co - Issue 8, May 2021 | https://mixedmag.co/2021/05/05/a-proustian-moment-by-ndimu-grignon/

bottom of page