top of page

Only, I

Updated: Mar 14, 2021

My eyes zeroed in on the mirror with unfeigned interest,

I could hardly believe what was looking back at me.

I was captivated, seduced, even bewitched.

Deep in the forests of Thespiae where the trees grew tall

And the flowers bloomed yellow.

I would walk in silence, nothing but a shadow echoing behind me.

“Narcissus” it would call, following me down every road.

Constant reminders of my sins and my pleasures, pursuing me

The farther I go the louder they call, I was not allowed to forget.

Nothing could compare, no husband, no bride; to the beauty of my own reflection.

Scorned by Aminias, from my doorstep to the Gods, for my selfishness and my beauty,

Do they not see that it can only be me?

The love that brews in my heart is for only I, I alone can drown in it.

I alone can drink deeply from delights of my soul.

I am art, you paint me and let me live in a canvas of eternal youth,

My beauty will always be untouched from sinister acts that press on my mind

Forming lines and creases that should follow me with age.

I drowned in a honeyed milk bath of eternal youth,

The wretchedness of jealousy filling up my lungs, turning the pearl of my skin blue.

Now, here I sit on the bank of the river Styx,

Left in eternal peace to gaze, but to never touch.

Recent Posts

See All

A Proustian Moment

Published in mixedmag.co - Issue 8, May 2021 | https://mixedmag.co/2021/05/05/a-proustian-moment-by-ndimu-grignon/

bottom of page